Blueberry Applesauce

Blueberry Applesauce

My neighbors apple tree is overflowing with very early, very small and very tart apples. Over the past few years, I’ve established that peeling these clementine-sized babies by hand for pies and tarts is hardly worth the effort. However, they really shine in applesauce, provided you add an extra few cups of sugar. This year, I decided to experiment with blackberries and blueberries in an attempt to reduce the sugar. Also, I had way too many of both berries on account of a discount grocery sale and my son’s sudden distaste for blueberries.

I cooked about 2 pints of the blackberries/blueberries in a saucepan until they released their juices and then ran them through my Squeezo strainer with the smallest screen setting. I stirred the strained berries into about 8 cups of finished sauce and added sugar to taste. I’m thinking this sauce will be a perfect addition to my Halloween dinner party in a few months.

This entry was published on June 24, 2012 at 7:07 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

