Use a free QR code app to add a link to a gift registry directly on an invitation. Genius!

Use a free QR code app to add a link to a gift registry directly on an invitation. Genius!

I hate when people ask me what my kids want for their birthday. It always catches me off guard and I end up giving them a blank stare and saying the first thing that comes to my mind. My go-to response of late has been art supplies, because you can always use ’em and if you get duplicates, they’re great for regifting.

Then I realized that I could use Amazon’s wish list function and allow my son to pick things he wants and then create a QR code (those square black and white things that look a little like barcodes) for people to scan with their smartphones that would take them directly to the wish list. I just added a line next to it that read “Scan for gift registry”

I found a free app for my iphone called QR flip flop and it took literally a minute to create a unique code square thingy that I could email as a photo file and add to my invitation.

This would also work great for bridal or baby showers too.

This entry was published on August 27, 2012 at 7:43 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

